Enable a separate dependancy for merge vs set to merge than modify all

Our organisation requires users to have modify all permissions on account so that they can edit records belonging to others. We hide the delete button from all layouts so there permissions are still limited.

We would love to show the DC Live feature on account to all users so that they can identify duplicates but because the modify all permission allows them to merge rather than set to merge, we cannot enable this.

it would be very helpful if you could set who can merge vs set to merge regardless of the SFDC modify all permission so that we enable DC Live for all users.

Discussion (1)

  • MM
    Matej Mercina19 Apr 2024, 16:14

    We have a very similar use case, however we use the “Override CRUD when performing merge” option to allow the users to merge without having Modify All, and restrict merges for users that shouldn’t be allowed to do it using Apex Plugins.

    However, as in your case, we’d like the option to show “Set for Merge” for some users, and “Merge” for others. Currently, as per documentation, the delete permission at the object level controls this behaviour.

    Having such an otherwise useful feature controlled by object delete seems very limiting.

    Two options for solving this, off the top of my head are:

    1. Add a new Custom Permission to DuplicateCheck. E.g. “Show Merge Button” or “Allow Merge”, which when not present would automatically cause the “Set for Merge” button to display for the user in question.

    2. Add a way to control the behaviour via Apex Plugins.

Join the discussion and help shape the future of Plauti.

Once you're signed in, you'll be able to:

  • Vote on ideas
  • Share your thoughts
  • Submit new ideas