1. My user has no access to the merge page
The user has no access to the 'Dc3Merge' Visualforce page.
2. My user is not allowed to view all records that are selected for merging
|Error message||You are not allowed to view all the records you have selected for Merging.|
This error message is triggered when there is a conflict with access rights in the Salesforce Sharing Rules. The Sharing Rules are defined in the Salesforce Setup. Go to Salesforce Setup - Security Controls - Sharing Settings.
|Default Internal Access||Merge behavior|
|Private||A standard user can only merge records of which they are owner.|
|Public Read/Write||A standard user can only merge records of which they are owner.|
|Public Read/Write/Transfer||A user can merge all records, when the user has delete rights for the Object.|
3. My user can only 'Set for Merge', not perform the actual merge.
|Error message||No error message is triggered, the user gets a 'Set for Merge' button instead of a 'Merge' button.|
This button appears when the user does not have 'Delete' rights on the Object. This 'Set for Merge' button allows the user to flag the records as potential duplicate records. The records will be set for merge and are displayed at the DC Job page for an administrator to merge.
Solution 1: Give the user delete rights on the Object.
Solution 2: Override CRUD when performing merge. Give the user permission to merge without delete rights in the Object.
4. Insufficient access to related records
|Error message||Merge Failed: Merge failed. First exception on row 0 with id#; first error: INSUFFICIENT_ACCESS_ON_CROSS_REFERENCE_ENTITY, insufficient access rights on cross-reference id: |
This error message is triggered when there is a conflict with access rights to a related record. In the merge process, Duplicate Check re-parents all related records to the master record. To be able to do this, the user needs sufficient access to these related records in order to reparent them.
Solution 1: Make sure the user has sufficient access to the related record according to the sharing rules.
|Private||A standard user can only re-parent records of which they are owner.|
|Public Read/Write||A standard user can only re-parent records of which they are owner.|
|Public Read/Write/Transer||A user can re-parent all records, when the user has delete rights for the Object.|
Solution 2: Give the 'Read' and 'Edit' rights on the Object.